Dasha System (Vimshottari Dasha Calculator)

Maharishi Parashar gave 42 Dasha systems amongst which Vimshottari Dasha system was the best one for general use. We will explain Vimshottari Dasha system as it is the most widely used Dasha system under Vedic astrology.

Dasha means a period of time which is ruled by a planet. Dominant results during that period will be of the planet whose Dasha is applicable for that period. Vimshottari means 120 and complete cycle of Vimshottari Dasha system is of 120 years. Basically, this cycle of 120 years is divided into smaller periods which are called Maha Dashas and each Maha Dasha lasts for a certain period in continuation.

Vimshottari Dasha Calculator

Vimshottari Dasha Calculator | Vimshottari Dasha System

Usually people do not undergo all the periods of Maha Dashas as life is usually shorter than 120 years. The sequence of Dasha follows the order shown above though it is not necessary that every person is born under Sun Maha Dasha. A person may take birth under any Maha Dasha and he may not even experience the complete period of Maha Dasha at the time of the birth but he will necessarily follow the order of Dashas as given above. For example a person maybe born during Venus Maha Dasha will necessarily have Sun as the next Maha Dasha then Moon Maha Dasha will follow then Mars Maha Dasha and so on. Also, a person at the time of birth may have just 5 years 3 months and 20 days as a balance of the Venus Maha Dasha left. The expired period of Maha Dasha at the time of the birth is calculated by Moon’s placement in the Nakshatra at the time of the birth. We will not get in to the calculations in this blog because most of the horoscope software readily gives the balance of the Dasha. We may take up this calculation separately in a different blog.

Each Maha Dasha gets further divided into a number of Antar Dasha (Sub-Period). Sequence of occurrence of Antar Dasha remains the same as Maha Dasha but the period of each Antar Dasha will vary according to the Maha Dasha it is coming under. Basically if Saturn Maha Dasha is beginning for someone then Saturn Antar Dasha also begins and further Antar Dasha of Mercury follows when Saturn Antar Dasha ends. The period of Saturn Antar Dasha under Saturn Maha Dasha will be 3 years and 3 days and period of Saturn Antar Dasha under Sun Maha Dasha will be 11 months and 12 days.

Each Antar Dasha gets further divided into sub-sub-periods which are called Pratyantar Dasha. The logic for further sub divisions remain the same.

We use this system of Dashas to predict the nature of events occurring at a certain point in time.

Find your Isht Dev Now

Know Your Isht Dev Now >>

You can check your free online Dasha through our Vimshottari Dasha Calculator.

We will end this blog here. We hope you have enjoyed reading it. Please leave your feedback in the comments section below.

Next post on Combust and Retrograde Planets.

Meanwhile do not forget to subscribe us for new blogs by simply adding your email id under subscribe section in the left column.

%d bloggers like this: