Combust Planets and Retrograde Planets

We will begin this blog by first explaining what combust planets are? Combust planets (Asta Graha in Hindi) simply means those planets which came very close (usually within 15 degrees) to the Sun suffers combustion due to Sun’s heat and brilliance. Combust state of a planet is just an apparent phenomenon it does not literally mean that a planet gets burnt because of Sun. Astrologically this would mean that Sun, by its brilliance, dwarfs the quality of a planet that is very close to Sun. Combust is usually shown by symbol (c) in front of the planet on any birth chart made by using online tools. Combust planet is often overlooked by many astrologers and this may lead to missing out on a very important detail which may be playing a dominant role in your life. A combust planet does not mean that the planet will necessarily give negative results; it just means that a planet will be giving very less results and these results could be positive or negative. An expert should be consulted to check how the combust planets are placed in the birth chart. Astrologer may recommend to wear a good quality higher carat gemstone of the combust planet in case the planet was benefic. Out of nine planets Mercury, Venus, Moon, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn are capable of getting combust. Rahu and Ketu are just shadow planets so they cannot get combust and Sun cannot combust itself.

Following are the degrees within which combustion for Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn happen:

Moon – 12 degrees on either side of the Sun.

Mercury – 14 degrees on either side of the Sun when Mercury is in direct motion and 12 degrees on either side of Sun when Mercury is in retrograde motion.

Venus – 10 degrees on either side of the Sun when Venus is in direct motion and 8 degrees on either side of Sun when Venus is in retrograde motion.

Mars – 17 degrees on either side of the Sun.

Jupiter – 11 degrees on either side of the Sun.

Saturn – 15 degrees on either side of the Sun.

Mars Venus and Saturn do not get combust while in Retrograde motion.

Now lets understand what are Retrograde planets (Vakriya Graha in Hindi). All planets revolve around the Sun in their particular orbits and during certain periods of time some planets appear to move backward in the sky. Though the planet follow the same trajectory but they appear to be relatively moving backwards, which happens because Earth is also revolving around the Sun along with spinning on its axis.
retrogradeIn the image above S is the Sun, T1 is the initial position of the observer on Earth and P1 is the initial position of the planet. Planet revolve around the Sun in anti-clockwise direction when observed from North pole of Sun, which means the observer on Earth will be initially on T1 position then T2 then T3 and so on. Similarly the planet will be initially at P1 then P2 then P3 and so on. While observing the planet from Earth at T1 position the projection of the planet will fall at A1. Then after sometime when the observer reaches at T2 and planet reaches at P2 the projection of the planet will fall at A2 on the celestial sphere. At T3 position the projection of the planet will form at A3. Projections A3 and A4 are actually forming behind A2 though in reality the planet is moving forward. So, this is just an apparent backward movement of  the planet and this movement is referred to as Retrograde which is often denoted by symbol (R) in front of the planet on the computerized birth chart.

Usually planet will move from house no.1 to house no.2 then from house no. 2 to house no. 3 and so on but during retrograde movement the planet will move in the opposite direction that means a retrograde planet would move from house no. 3 to house no. 2. Sun and Moon never retrograde while Rahu and Ketu always have a retrograde movement. Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn are sometimes retrograde. Retrograde planets are also, at times overlooked by astrologers while analysing the birth chart. It is critical to consider the movement of the planet at the time of birth as a retrograde planet might give significantly different result from what it would have given otherwise.

Find your Isht Dev Now

Know Your Isht Dev Now >>

We will conclude this blog here. We hope you have enjoyed learning these simple concepts. Please post your feedback in the comment section.

Next post on Sade Sati.

Meanwhile do not forget to subscribe us for new blogs by simply adding your email id under subscribe section in the left column.

  1. 2 years ago
  2. 1 year ago

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: