What is Shivling and why it is worshiped?

What is Shivling

What is Shivling?


Shivling History

According to Linga Puran, Shivling is considered as the source of all creation. Lord Shiva is usually worshiped as Shivling which is considered as formless. Shivling depicts the union of Shiva and Shakti, through which the whole universe is created. Many people often misunderstand this union as a symbol of sex and pleasure but Shivling is actually the symbol of that regenerative strength through which creation happens.

One of the previous blogs on creation of life, explained that life is created when Soul and Consciousness get united. Shiva (male form) is the absolute consciousness and Shakti (female form) is the absolute energy (soul) and their union is represented as Shivling. Lord Shiva is regarded as the father of the universe and Maa Parvati as the mother of the Universe. If the union represented by a Shivling is looked at a sublime level then it is not hard to realize that this symbol is very sacred and this symbol represents where each one of us has come from.

Important points to be kept in mind while worshiping a Shivling

Whatever is offered to a Shivling is considered as Nirmalya, which means it is not meant to be consumed. Water offered to the Shivling is never consumed. Any offering made to God with full devotion is dear to god but as a usual practice Tulsi leaves are not offered to Shivling and the water from Shivling is not offered to Tulsi plant. Unboiled milk from Cow and white flowers except that of Kevada are also dear to lord Shiva.

Can we keep Shivling at home?

Shivling is extremely sacred and it requires a lot of daily care and rituals to maintain the sacredness. It is advised a Shivling if established at home then it should be daily worshiped as per the rituals and complete Brahmanic lifestyle be maintained at home. Often it is advised that a Shivling is better worshiped at a temple because such strict way of living is difficult to maintain at home.

If a Shivling is established at home then it should not be more than the height of the upper phalange of the thumb. Pran Pratishta Puja is not needed at home because an idol is not moved once Pran Pratishta Puja is performed and such a small Shivling at home can be moved as and when needed.

Some notable Shivlings:

There are 12 Jyotirlingas and all of them are very sacred.

    1. Somnath – Gujarat
    1. Mallikarjuna – Andhra Pradesh
    1. Mahakaleshwar – Madhya Pradesh
    1. Omkareshwar – Madhya Pradesh
    1. Kedarnath – Uttarakhand
    1. Bhimashankar – Maharashtra
    1. Triyambkeshwar – Maharashtra
    1. Baidhyanath – Bihar
    1. Kashi Vishwanath – Uttar Pradesh
    1. Rameshwaram – Tamil Nadu
    1. Nageshvar – Gujarat
  1. Grineshwar – Maharashtra

Find your Isht Dev Now

Know Your Isht Dev Now >>

We hope you have enjoyed reading about what is Shivling. Please share the same if you have liked it and leave your feedback in the comments.

Next Post: Planetary Transit – How long does a planet stay in a sign?

Latest post – Parkinson disease Ayurvedic cure: Zandopa

%d bloggers like this: